Western Balkan partners join Horizon Europe News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


Western Balkan partners join Horizon Europe

The European Commission has signed agreements for closer cooperation in research and innovation with Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia. For the period 2021-2027, they have been granted association status to the EU’s €95.5 billion research and innovation programme, Horizon Europe. This means that Western Balkan partner researchers, innovators and research bodies can now benefit from Horizon Europe support on the same footing as their counterparts from EU Member States. This will allow them to develop projects, technology and conduct research that will contribute to tackling global challenges.


Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said: “I welcome Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia to Horizon Europe. We can attract investment, develop human capital, support start-ups and create the necessary conditions for growth by working together. The implementation of the Western Balkans Agenda and participation in Horizon Europe will have a great impact in the region and in Europe overall. 


Association with Horizon Europe supports the Global Approach to Research and Innovation and reconfirms the EU’s commitment to the level of global openness needed to drive excellence, pool resources for faster scientific progress and develop vibrant innovation ecosystems. While Kosovo is new to the programme, the other Western Balkan partners already had association status for Horizon 2020, the previous EU research and innovation programme, running from 2014-2020.

Read more

Source: European Union

Photo credits: European Union

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.