Albania joins the EU Civil Protection Mechanism News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


Albania joins the EU Civil Protection Mechanism

Today Albania officially becomes a Participating State in the EU Civil Protection Mechanism – the EU’s disaster risk management system.


As a full member of the EU Civil Protection Mechanism, Albania will not only be able to receive immediate support but can also send assistance to countries struck by a disaster through the Mechanism, leading to stronger and better coordinated crisis response in Europe and in the rest of the world. Before joining as a fully-fledged member, Albania had already been supported by EU Civil Protection Teams following the devastating earthquake in November 2019, and wildfires during the last three summers.


Commissioner Janez Lenarčič is in Tirana to mark the occasion. There he met Prime Minister Edi Rama and Minister of Defence Niko Peleshi. Together with Minister Peleshi, the Commissioner signed the agreement making Albania a member of the Mechanism.


The EU Civil Protection Mechanism aims to strengthen cooperation between the EU countries and 8 Participating States (Iceland, Norway, Serbia, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Turkey, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and most recently Albania) on civil protection to improve prevention, preparedness, and response to disasters.


When an emergency overwhelms the response capabilities of a country in Europe and beyond, it can request assistance through the Mechanism. The European Commission plays a key role in coordinating the disaster response worldwide. Since its inception in 2001, the EU Civil Protection Mechanism has responded to more than 600 requests for assistance inside and outside the EU.

Read more

Source: European Union

Photo credits: European Union

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.