Writers from Western Balkans among laureates of EU prize for literature News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


Writers from Western Balkans among laureates of EU prize for literature

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) celebrates emerging fiction writers in Europe and beyond. On 9 November, the EUPL 2021 Award Ceremony honoured the 13 laureates of the current edition of the prize, among them Tom Kuka from Albania and Dejan Tiago Stanković from Serbia.


Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, welcomed the 2021 laureates saying, “The European Prize for Literature exists to make sure that all Europeans have access to the cultural diversity that our continent has to offer. It is a symbol of the many concrete actions that the EU is doing to facilitate the circulation of books in Europe and beyond. With this prize, we want to make sure you, European writers, are visible and accessible.”


The laureates were selected by national juries comprised of publishers, booksellers, authors and critics. The prize has recognised emerging fiction writers from across Europe since 2009, with 135 authors receiving its awards. The competition is open to the 40 countries involved in the Creative Europe programme.

Read more

Source: Creative Europe

Photo credits: Creative Europe

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.