Here are the winners of the 2023 European Union Prize for Literature News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


Here are the winners of the 2023 European Union Prize for Literature

The jury of the European Union Prize of Literature (EUPL) have announced the laureates of 2023 edition of the prize at the Leipzig Book Fair. For the 2023 edition, emerging authors from 13 countries had been nominated by their country. An international jury composed of 7 literary personalities have announced the winner of the Grand prix on 28 April, at the Leipzig Book Fair.


Martina Vidaić, from Croatia is the winner of the 2023 edition of the EU Prize for Literature. The 5 authors who have received a mention are: Maud Simonnot from France, Ag Apolloni from Kosovo, Iida Rauma from Finland, Tõnis Tootsen from Estonia and Χάρη Ν. Σπανού (Hari N. Spanou) from Cyprus.


All nominated authors will be continuously promoted at European level. This will help them reach a wider and more international audience, as well as connect with readers beyond their national and linguistic borders. The 2023 selection displays a great variety of languages, countries stories, and voices. It is a perfect illustration of what EU and creative Europe stand for: openness and support to cultural and linguistic diversity within and beyond EU.

Read more

Source: Creative Europe

Photo credits: Creative Europe

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.