| EU Prize for Literature announces 2021 shortlist News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


EU Prize for Literature announces 2021 shortlist

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from across Europe. The award includes 41 countries that are part of the Creative Europe programme – an initiative aiming to strengthen Europe’s cultural and creative sectors. The EUPL was launched in 2009 and since then recognised 135 winning authors through 12 editions. Each year, the EUPL awards one winner per country from a third of participating countries. This year’s edition will award winners from 14 countries: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Moldova, the Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Tunisia.


The shortlist includes five candidates from Albania:


  • Ana Kove, Kambanat e së dielës(Bells on Sunday), publisher: Toena
  • Brajan Sukaj, Viti i Elefantit (The Year of the Elephant), publisher: Ombra GVG
  • Liridon Mulaj, Mos harro të më kujtosh(Don’t forget to remember me), publisher: Onufri
  • Loer Kume, Amygdala Mandala(Amygdala Mandala), publisher: UET Press
  • Tom Kuka, Flama (Calamity), publisher: Pegi


The shortlist for each country has been selected by a national jury of literary experts. The winners of the EUPL 2021 edition will be announced on 18 May in a digital event.

Source: European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL)

Photo credits: European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL)

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.