Authors from Albania and Serbia among winners of the EU Literature Prize News | WeBalkans


Find out the latest on EU-related activities and events in the Western Balkans


Authors from Albania and Serbia among winners of the EU Literature Prize

Albanian author, Enkel Demi, for his novel “Flama” (Calamity) and Serbian author, Dejan Tiago Stanković, for “Zamalek” are among the winners of this year’s EU Literature Prizes.


The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from the European Union and beyond. Engaging the 41 participating members in the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the Prize celebrates 41 outstanding new literary talents across a cycle of three years.


Spotlighting the creativity and the immense and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, EUPL aims to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works. The 2021 edition awards thirteen laureates from the countries participating in this cycle, including authors from Albania and Serbia.


The 2021 laureate for each country was selected by a national jury of experts in literature, publishing and bookselling.


Mariya Gabriel, the European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, congratulated the winning laureates.  Commissioner Gabriel said: “The EU Prize for Literature celebrates and promotes the incredible creativity and diversity that can be found in Europe’s contemporary literature scene. The immense value of literature is more apparent now than ever before. Having lived under the shadow of Covid for more than a year, books have become “essential”. Congratulations to the laureates!”

Read more

Source: Delegation of the European Union to Serbia

Photo credits: Delegation of the European Union to Serbia

Please wait while your video is being uploaded...

Don't close this window!

Subscribe to the newsletter

I have read and understood the terms of the privacy statement.